Valletta is a hot spot for architectural, historical and cultural heritage. While it’s inundated with incredible spots to visit, there are also a number of lesser-known spots around the city that are worth gazing at. One of these places is the gorgeous Palazzo Ferreria.
Found right at the entrance to Malta’s capital, Palazzo Ferreria, also known as Palazzo Buttigieg-Francia boasts quite the architecture. The late-19th century and second-largest palazzo in the city can be found right in front of Teatru Rjal (Valletta’s open-air theatre) and is quite the beauty!
A jump back in time
It’s the late 19th century and the humble Giuseppe Buttigieg and his wife Giovanna Camilleri acquire the land of a former foundry of the Order of St John from the government. Score! The couple built the palace, adding the coat of arms of the Buttigieg and Camilleri families on the façade. The magnificent palace was left as a dowry to their Teresa who married Colonel John Louis Francia. The family lived at the place until 1947, after the end of World War II.
As previously mentioned, the palace was designed by renowned Architect Giuseppe Bonavia, who was the brains behind Lija’s Belvedere Tower (the one that is now used as a roundabout) and La Borsa (Malta’s Stock Exchange). It was actually the first building to use timber balconies on our island, accredited to Bonavia.
Bonavia was an influential guy on the local architectural scene, inspiring other architects and the local population, whose work is still appreciated to this day. And we can totally see why!
Today, having been extensively restored, one of the entrances to the palace is now a Tommy Hilfiger store – quite an impressive one, if we say so ourselves! Palazzo Ferreria is also a scheduled as a Grade 1 National Monument by the Planning Authority.
Have you stopped to stare at this beauty?