WATCH: Local explorers visit Kalkara’s Our Saviour’s Gate – a lesser-known spot rife with history
This week, local explorer Pierre Farrugia went back to his roots and visited his childhood village of Kalkara to explore Our Saviour's Gate or Bieb Is-Salvatur, in Maltese.
Pierre and his friend, Angelo, started their journey at Our Saviour's curtain, situated between the demi-bastions of Saint Lawrence and the bastion of Our Saviour, named after Kalkara's hill.
Our Saviour’s gate was built during the reign of Grand Master Ramón Perellós y Rocafull and is home to a chapel that holds a lot of history. The gate serves as an entrance to the beautiful chapel, built by the Knights of St John between 1715 and 1722.
The saying ‘never judge a book by its cover’ was more relevant than ever during this expedition…
From the outside, the chapel might look plain and ordinary, but the inside holds treasures unknown to most.
This holy site was embellished with many frescos in its glory days, as one can still see. Unfortunately, the chapel was later hit by a WWII bomb, which left a gaping hole behind and essentially spelt the building’s demise.
It looks like the chapel has been left untouched ever since it was struck, as one can still see remnants of canvas paintings on the floor.
Pierre and Angelo discovered a tunnel dug into the bastion that served as the previous entrance to Kalkara, as well as many paths which connected the building together.
The two explorers also discovered two buildings that probably served as stores for the Chapel.
Good luck on your next adventure!